mandag 10. august 2020

China imposes sanctions on US senators over Hong Kong

China has said it will impose sanctions on 11 US citizens including senators and other high profile officials. The sanctions come in response to a decision by the US to sanction 11 Chinese officials and allies in Hong Kong for curtailing political freedoms. Among those targeted by China were Republican Senators Ted Cruz and Marco Rubio, and Kenneth Roth, the executive director of charity Human Rights Watch.

China did not target any officials from the Trump administration. Also on the list were Senators Tom Cotton, Josh Hawley and Pat Toomey and Representative Chris Smith - all Republicans - as well as other individuals from non-profit organisations and rights groups.