onsdag 29. juli 2020

China suspends Hong Kong extradition treaties with Australia, UK, Canada

China says it has suspended Hong Kong's extradition treaties with Australia, Canada and the United Kingdom in response to similar decisions made by those countries. The three countries had all suspended extradition treaties with Hong Kong this month after Beijing imposed a broad new security law that criminalises many forms of political dissent. Foreign Ministry spokesman Wang Wenbin told a press conference in Beijing that China "firmly opposes" the decision made by the countries.