søndag 23. oktober 2022

Politburo Standing Committee: Who are the men that rule China now?

The Chinese Communist Party has finally unveiled the men who will rule China for the next five years The Politburo Standing Committee is China's equivalent of the presidential cabinet. It is considered the elite of the elite within the party, and getting to the top often requires not only a stellar political track record, but also deft manoeuvring of internal rivalries. It is not unusual to see big reshuffles of the Standing Committee after a term ends, and this time it is no different.

Effectively handpicked by President Xi Jinping, most of them are new to the team apart from Zhao Leji and Wang Huning. Most, if not all, are seen to be Xi loyalists. Here are the men who, led by President Xi, make up the power centre of China.