tirsdag 5. april 2022

Sri Lanka MPs leave Gotabaya Rajapaksa-led coalition

More than 40 MPs have left Sri Lankan president Gotabaya Rajapaksa's coalition government. MPs from parties aligned with Mr Rajapaksa's Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) led coalition said they would now independently represent themselves. It comes as the South Asian nation is grappling with power cuts and shortages due to an economic and foreign exchange crisis. This has led to mass protests demanding Mr Rajapaksa's resignation.

It is unclear what the implications of the MPs actions are at this point - they have distanced themselves from the government but have not extended support to the opposition.