fredag 4. februar 2022

Beijing Winter Olympics: Why are they controversial?

The US, UK and Canada have declared a diplomatic boycott of the Games, along with Australia, Lithuania, Kosovo, Belgium, Denmark and Estonia. Although they will all send athletes to compete, no ministers or officials will attend. The US said this was because of China's "human rights abuses and atrocities in Xinjiang" against the province's Muslim population.

British MP Iain Duncan Smith, who represents the Inter-Parliamentary Alliance on China, said: "The Chinese government commits industrial-scale human rights abuses in the Uyghur Region, Tibet and sends near-daily military incursions into Taiwan's airspace. "We cannot lend any legitimacy to China's despotic regime." Japan has also said it won't send any government ministers to the Games but will send Olympic officials.