lørdag 17. juli 2021

US Sanctions Chinese Officials For Hong Kong Crackdown

The U.S. has sanctioned seven Chinese officials for their participation in China’s clampdown on democracy in Hong Kong. The officials were targeted under the 2020 Hong Kong Autonomy Act, which “imposes sanctions on foreign individuals and entities that materially contribute to China’s failure to preserve Hong Kong’s autonomy.” The sanctions provide for asset freezes and other penalties.

Those sanctioned are with China’s Hong Kong liaison office, which represents the Beijing government’s interests in Hong Kong. Shortly before the sanctions were announced, Chinese foreign ministry spokesperson Zhao Lijian said at a regular news conference in Beijing that “China will respond firmly and forcefully to the measures taken by the United States.”